Sentimental Jewellery

There is a lot more to jewellery pieces than it may first seem. Three girls talk to me about their sentimental piece of jewellery and reveal their hidden stories.

Sophie, Ella and Saby

Sophie, Ella and Saby

copyright mytrophyaccessory 6

Sophie says, “My sister bought these earrings for me in Mexico City and sent them to me for my Birthday. Not only are they cute and on trend, but they have a deeper, really interesting meaning to them.”

“Day of the dead is a Mexican holiday, a positive celebration of those who are deceased. Everything is shut for two days in November and family and friends get together to pray and remember their lost ones. It’s characterised by altars, visits to graves and celebrations with food and traditional music. People decorate the streets and their houses with decorative skulls as a symbol of remembrance to those that have died.”

copyright mytrophyaccessory 55

Saby says, “This ring was my Great Grandad’s and it originally had a Chilean blue stone on it as my family is from Chile. He used to wear it on his little finger and one day whilst he was working, something flew past him and he put his hand up to protect him. I’m unsure what it was, but it was sharp enough to force off the blue stone.”

“He then saw it as a good luck charm, something that had quite possible save his sight. After having it filed down, he got an ’S’ engraved onto it, which is the first letter of our last name. When my Grandad turned 15 he gave it to him, and it then worked its way through every single one of my family members to me. I shall be giving it to my niece when she too turns 15.”

copyright mytrophyaccessory 4

Ella says, “My mum bought me this as a present for getting into university. Something that I could take with me as I left home for the first time and moved 6 hours away and I’ve worn it everyday since.”

“As horseshoes have their obvious symbolic meaning of ‘good luck’ it’s reassuring to think that I have a piece of home and my mum with me.”

Leave a comment