Interview with Maggie Angus’ jewellery designer

Maggie Angus SS13 Collection

Maggie Angus SS13 Collection

“Our prediction of the next cult jewellery brand” Heat magazine

Maggie Angus is a British brand, offering an upbeat and fresh take on accessories with their homemade acrylic jewellery. Fonder and designer, Anna Evans talks to me about her inspiration and thoughts on accessorising with jewellery.

A favourite amongst the likes of Jessie J, Fearne Cotton and Little Mix. Maggie Angus has taken the fashion world by a storm and won ’New jewellery designer of the year 2012’.

Maggie Angus jewellery press coverage

Maggie Angus jewellery press coverage

When was the Maggie Angus store born?

Maggie Angus was born in September 2010.

What is it that made you want to go into jewellery designing? 

I’ve always made jewellery and clothes, plus I’ve always wanted to run my own business. I used to work in magazine and met lots of accessories designers. I loved my job but I always wished I was them. One actually said to me ‘why don’t you run a jewellery business?’ and well, I couldn’t think of a reason why not.

Why did you specifically choose acrylic as the material to work with for Maggie Angus?

I love bright colours and I like how I can mix my illustrative style with jewellery using acrylic.

Where do you get your inspiration?

I get my inspiration from lots of things but mostly old school book illustrations, emphemera and my endless doodling.

What do you think jewellery can add to an outfit?

Personally I’m not a fan of wearing patterns so jewellery, to me, gives my outfits an instant lift.

If you could only wear one piece of jewellery for the rest of your life, what would it be?

A necklace. If it was to be a Maggie Angus piece, it would be the Charleston Dancer in silver. I think it’s quite cheeky and I dream of being a 1920’s style dancer.

Charleston Dancer

Charleston Dancer

 

Maggie Angus online shop

Leave a comment